Date:

FILE NO.  

NOTICE OF PROPOSED ACTION,

 NATURE OF VIOLATION, AND 

RIGHT TO REQUEST HEARING 
TO:


You are hereby notified that the Agricultural Commissioner for the County of ________________ proposes that you be fined the amount of $______ as a civil penalty for violating California’s pesticide law(s) as explained below.  The authority for this action is granted to the County Agricultural Commissioner pursuant to the provisions of section 12999.5 of the Food and Agricultural Code (FAC). 

 The amount of this fine was determined by applying the circumstances of the violation to the fine regulations adopted for use in these actions.  These regulations are found in   Title 3, California Code of Regulations (3 CCR), section 6130, a copy of which is enclosed with this Notice of Proposed Action.  

FACTUAL CIRCUMSTANCES OF VIOLATION(S)

You are charged with violating California’s pesticide laws and regulations as cited below.  A brief description of the nature of each violation, the facts of each violation, and an explanation of how the fine level was determined follows:

Violation 1 and Fine Explanation

Penalty Summary

The Commissioner proposes to fine you a total of $ __________ for the _____ described above.  

ENCLOSURE(S)

A copy of the text of 3 CCR, section 6130,  _______________________ is/are enclosed for your convenience.  

You May Request a Hearing and Present Evidence at the Hearing

You may request a hearing to review the Commissioner’s evidence, and to present any evidence, oral or written, on your behalf as to why the Commissioner should not take the proposed action.  You are not required to be represented by legal counsel at the hearing. Your attorney may accompany you and represent you if you wish.  You will be provided a written decision of the Commissioner’s finding.  Although not required by the authorizing statute, a tape-recording will be made of the hearing proceedings.   

How to Request a Hearing - Failure to Request – FAC section 12999.5

A hearing in this matter will be scheduled and held at the office of the County Agricultural Commissioner, located at the above noted address, if you request a hearing by signing, dating, and returning the enclosed Hearing Request (or a hearing request letter) within 20 days of receipt of this Notice of Proposed Action.   Failure to timely request a hearing is a waiver of the right to a hearing.  The Commissioner may take the action proposed in this notice without a hearing.  Further, failure to request a hearing is a waiver of your right to appeal the Commissioner’s decision (see Appeal After Hearing).  

Stipulation and Waiver to Order – FAC section 12999.5
If you do not wish to request a hearing to contest the charges and proposed action, you may stipulate (agree) to the enclosed Order by dating, signing, and returning the enclosed Stipulation and Waiver to Order within 20 days of receipt of this notice.   

Appeal Rights After Hearing – FAC section 12999.5  

Should you disagree with the Commissioner’s decision, you may request an appeal to the Director of DPR within 30 days of receiving the Commissioner’s decision and order.  However, you waive these appeal rights if you do not request and attend the hearing at the scheduled time and date, or if you fail to request an appeal within the 30-day time frame. 

The request for appeal must be mailed to the Director of the Department of Pesticide Regulation, 1001 I Street, P.O. Box 4015, Sacramento, California 95812-4015.  

The request for appeal:

1. Must be signed by you or your authorized agent; and 

2. Must state the grounds for the appeal; and

3. Must include a copy of the Commissioner’s Decision and Order; and

4. Must be filed or mailed to the Commissioner at the same time you mail it to the Director. 

Failure to follow any of the above requirements may affect your right to appeal.

If the Director grants an appeal, you will receive the Director’s written decision approximately 45 days after receipt of your appeal, or as soon thereafter as practical.

Pesticide Incident Reimbursement Notice - FAC section 12997.5

Any person who is found in violation of pesticide laws and regulations that resulted in illness or injury requiring emergency medical transport or emergency medical treatment of any individual, in a non-occupational setting, from a pesticide used in the production of an agricultural commodity shall be liable to the individual harmed or to the medical provider for the immediate costs of uncompensated medical care from acute injuries and illnesses of the exposed individual.  

Timely Reimbursement - Penalty Offset and Proof Notice – 

FAC sections 12996.5 and 12997.5
If you offer to reimburse, or have already reimbursed, the immediate medical costs for acute medical illnesses and injury, the Commissioner may reduce the proposed administrative civil penalty by an amount up to fifty percent.  You must request a hearing and provide proof at the hearing of immediate reimbursement in order for the Commissioner to consider reducing the penalty.

Schools Notice – FAC section 12999.5(b)

If you receive a civil penalty for pesticide drift in a school area subject to FAC section 11503.5 that results in a serious (Class A) violation as defined in 3 CCR section 6130, the Commissioner shall charge a fee, not to exceed fifty dollars ($50), for processing and monitoring each subsequent pesticide application that may pose a risk of drift, until you have completed 24 months without another serious violation (as defined by 3 CCR section 6130).

ORDER

FILE NO.  

TO:

ORDER:  It is hereby ordered ________ is fined ____________ .  The fine is due now and payable. 

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Instructions to Respondent:

If you wish to pay the fine and not request (waive) a hearing, you may sign the Stipulation and Waiver to Order below.   By doing so, you also waive your right to an appeal or any other review in this matter.  If you wish to sign the Stipulation and Waiver to Order, you must submit it to the Agricultural Commissioner within 20 days of receipt of this notice.    

STIPULATION AND WAIVER TO ORDER

I hereby stipulate that the Agricultural Commissioner’s Notice of Proposed Action in the above-entitled matter states grounds for civil penalty action based on the evidence now before the Commissioner.  

Without admitting to the violations alleged in the Notice of Proposed Action, I stipulate to the Commissioner’s Order, as set forth above, and I waive all rights to a hearing and appeal or any other review in this matter.

________________________            Date: ______________________
Respondent’s Signature        

Make the check payable to:  ________________    

Mail the check and the signed Stipulation and Waiver to Order to:

HEARING REQUEST

ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF RECEIPT OF 

PROPOSED NOTICE OF ACTION AND 

REQUEST FOR HEARING
FILE NO:
Important:  The Hearing Request must be submitted to the Agricultural Commissioner within 20 days of receipt of the Notice of Proposed Action.      

TO:  

I, the undersigned respondent in this proceeding, hereby acknowledge receipt of a copy of the Notice of Proposed Action.

I hereby request a hearing to permit me to have an opportunity to present my defense to the violations contained in the Notice of Proposed Action.






Date: ___________________________________

Respondent’s Signature

Respondent’s Name (printed)




Telephone:  

Mail this form to:

If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact ___________ at (   )                

