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Who Needs It? 
An Agricultural Pest Control Adviser (PCA) License is required by any person who offers a recommendation on any agricultural use, who

holds himself/herself forth as an authority on any agricultural use, or who solicits services or sales for any agricultural use (FAC sections

11410, 11411).

Exemptions:

1. The following are exempted from this licensing requirement if the recommendation is put in writing (FAC section 12001): 

• Officials of federal, state, and county departments of agriculture 
• University of California personnel engaged in duties relating to agricultural use 
• Public agency employees are required to be licensed as PCAs when making decisions except those that are exempted (ENF 05-28) 

2. Operator of the property (i.e., growers, firms, or corporations) and their employees are not required to be licensed when making decisions in 
regards to pesticides used for agricultural use on property under their control. 

What’s Required? 
A PCA License is obtained by passing the Laws, Regulations, and Basic Principles (includes Integrated Pest Management Principles) 
examination and at least one category examination (for a list of categories, refer to FAC section 12022).  In order to qualify for this 
examination, the applicant must meet the following requirements: 
• Option 1: Bachelors degree in agricultural sciences, biological sciences, natural sciences, or pest management and meet the core course 

requirements; Option 2: Doctoral degree (i.e., PhD.) in agricultural sciences, biological sciences, natural sciences, or pest management; 
or Option 3: Meet the core course requirements plus 24 months of technical experience. The core course requirements are 42 semester 
units or 63 quarter units of college-level curricula in the physical and biological sciences, crop health, pest management systems and 
methods, and production systems course areas (3 CCR section 6550). 2.0 grade point average in all core courses. 

• Submit a copy of official college transcripts with the APCA application (3 CCR section 6550) 
• Submit examination fee of $50.00 for each exam to be taken (FAC section 11502.5[b]) 
• Submit an initial application fee of $80.00 (FAC section 12021)

Note: Examinations are based on the knowledge expectations found on DPR’s website at <www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/license/adviserke.htm>.


Additional Requirements! 
• Accumulate at least 40 hours of approved continuing education every two years before license renewal. Four of the 40 hours of 

continuing education must cover the topic of pesticide and pest control laws and regulations (3 CCR section 6511) 
• Register with the county agricultural commissioner in “home” county (address on the PCA license) and in each county where 

recommendations are made (FAC section 12031) 
• Retain one copy of each written recommendation for one year following the date of such recommendation (FAC section 12004) 
• Provide the operator of the property with a copy of the written recommendation prior to the application (FAC section 12003) 
• Where a pesticide use is recommended, a copy of the written recommendation must be provided to the pest control dealer and the 

applicator prior to the application (FAC section 12003) 

References: Food and Agricultural Code sections 12001 - 12035 and
 Title 3, California Code of Regulations sections 6550 - 6557. 


