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What You Need to Know to Renew Your Individual License or Certificate

What are some of the common problems associated with individual license/ certificate
renewal applicationsreceived by the Department of Pesticide Regulation (DPR)?

Some of the most common problems associated with individual license/certificate renewal applications
include: no fees or the wrong amount is submitted; no signature; and insufficient CE hours.

How long after expiration of my license/certificate will | be ableto renew aslong as| meet

therequirements?
You have 12 months after your license/certificate expires to renew as long as you meet all of the basic
requirements and submit the late fee(s).

What isthe procedurefor notifying DPR of a name change or address change?

To notify DPR of a name or address change, fill out and send in form (PR-PML-002). The form is available
on our website. During renewal, name and address changes can be made on the renewal application. In the
case of a name change, other documents may be needed. Please consult with DPR.

Does DPR post the names of valid licensees and certificate holders on the website?
Yes. DPR posts the names of people holding valid DPR licenses/certificates on the website.

Does DPR track continuing education hoursfor licensees and certificate holders?

No. DPR does not track continuing education (CE) hours for DPR licensees or certificate holders. It is the
applicant’s responsibility to keep track of his/her CE hours. DPR has approved private entities such as the
Continuing Education Center for Pest Management (CECPM) and the California Agricultural Aircraft
Association (CAAA) that track CE hours for their members.

Does Continuing Education Center for Pest Management (CECPM) or California

Agricultural Aircraft Association (CAAA) send my continuing education hoursto DPR?
No. Neither CECPM nor CAAA sends your CE hours to DPR. You are responsible for sending DPR your CE
hours.

Why do | haveto sign my renewal application form?
By law, the application must be signed in order to validate the information submitted.

Can | renew my licenseor certificateif | don’t meet the minimum CE hoursfor “Laws

and Regulations’, but have more hoursthan required for the“ other” ?
No. You cannot renew your license/certificate if you do not meet the minimum requirements for CE hours
for “Laws and Regulations”, even if you have more hours than required for the “other”.

Can my excess CE hoursfor “Lawsand Regulations’ be used to meet the “other” CE
requirements?
Yes. Excess CE hours for “Laws and Regulations” can be used to meet the “other” CE requirements.

If my license or certificate expiresand | renew late, do | still have to meet the CE

requirementsfor thetwo-year licenseor certificate?
Yes. If your license/certificate expires and you renew late, you still have to meet the CE requirements for
the two-year license/certificate. There is no pro-rating of the CE requirement.

For more information, go to www.cdpr.ca.gov and click on the Licensing quick link.
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Isthe sponsor required to provide mewith a certificate or other proof of completing a

CE course?
Yes. The sponsor is required to provide you with a certificate or other proof of CE course completion.

If | renew late, when do | need to start earning CE for the next 2 years?
You can start earning CE hours from the date you obtain a valid license/certificate from DPR.

Does DPR audit CE hour summaries submitted for renewal of licenses/certificates?
Yes. DPR audits CE hour summaries submitted for renewal of licenses/certificates.

If I submit my renewal application, fee(s), and required information to DPR, but have

not received my license/certificate, can | work without the license/certificate?
No. You cannot work without a current valid license/certificate issued by DPR. This applies even if you
have submitted your renewal application, fees and any other required information to DPR.

Istherea place on DPR’swebsitethat lists approved CE cour ses?
DPR’s website shows the list of approved CE courses at www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/license/conted.htm

If | possessonly category “Q” —Maintenance Gardener asa Qualified Applicator

License/Certificate holder, how many CE hoursarerequired for renewal ?
Eight (8) hours of DPR approved CE (including 2 hours of “Laws and Regulations”) are required for
renewal.

If I am afirst-timerenewal applicant, do | have to meet the same CE requirements as

those who have been licensed or certified for two year s?

If you are a first-time renewal applicant and your license/certificate has been valid (issued) for:
e less than 12 months - no CE hours are required

e 12 to 20 months - one-half of the CE hours are required

e 21 to 24 months - the full CE hours are required

Can | earn CE hoursif | attend a CE coursethat isnot approved by DPR?
No. You cannot earn CE hours for attending a CE course that is not approved by DPR.

Can | carry over CE hoursto my next renewal period?
No. You cannot carry over CE hours to your next renewal period.

Can | renew my license/certificateif it has been expired for morethan 12 months?
No. You cannot renew your license/certificate if it has been expired for more than 12 months. You will
have to re-exam unless you can document that you were serving in the military (active duty) or had a
medical or catastrophic exception.

Isthere an extension period to obtain therequired CE hours after the expiration of

the license/certificate?

No. There is no extension period to obtain the required CE hours after your license/certificate expires.
The only exceptions are documentation that you were serving in the military (active duty) or had a
medical or catastrophic situation.

For more information, go to www.cdpr.ca.gov and click on the Licensing quick link.
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