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You must possess a Pest Control Dealer Designated Agent (DA) license if you are
responsible for supervising the operations of a licensed pest control dealer at a
principle or branch location. A licensed DA is required at each pest control dealer
location, and each DA may serve only one location.

You can obtain a DA license by submitting the application, appropriate fees, and
passing the required examination.

You must pass the Laws and Regulations for Designated Agents examination with a
score of 70 percent or higher (Title 3 of California Code of Regulations [3 CCR],
Code section 6504). This examination demonstrates the applicant’s knowledge of the
laws and regulations governing the use and sale of pesticides, and the responsibilities
of a Pest Control Dealer Business.

Individuals that hold the following DPR licenses and Certificates may qualify to be a
DA without taking the Laws and Regulations for Designated Agents examination:

» Agricultural Pest Control Adviser License

* Qualified Applicator License

« Journeyman Pest Control Aircraft Pilot Certificate

However, Qualified Applicator Certificate holders, structural pest control operators,
and out-of-state licensees do not qualify.

Annual DPR Exam Schedules are revised in December and posted on the website at
www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/license/liccert.htm. Your application must be postmarked by
the final filing date listed in the examination schedule in order for your requested
month, location, and type of examination(s) to be processed.

To prepare for the examination, it is suggested that you read the appropriate study
materials listed on the Suggested Study Material Source List included in this packet.
Many of the study materials have practice test questions at the end of each chapter
that can help you evaluate whether you know the material well enough to pass the
exam. For some categories, DPR has posted Knowledge Expectations on their
website that outline the type of information you will be expected to know when you
take the examination.

The application fee is $25 for this license (3 CCR section 6502). This fee is only
required once, provided you become licensed within one year.
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The examination fee is $50 (3 CCR section 6505) for each examination taken
(including reexaminations due to rescheduling or failure to pass). However, if you
do not show for your examination(s) and do not reschedule you must again submit
the exam fees.

If you pass the required examinations, you may receive a Second-year Fee Notice.
This notice will inform you that you have paid for the first year of a 2-year cycle,
and that in order to issue your license an additional $25 is required for the second-
year fee. The 2-year cycles are illustrated in the table below.

If your last name begins with... Then your license will...
A through L Expire on December 31 of even-numbered years
(e.g. 2010, 2012, 2014, etc.)
M through Z Expire on December 31 of odd numbered years
(e.g. 2011, 2013, 2015, etc.)

A list of valid licenses may be viewed at www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/license/currlic/htm.

A new license may be valid for up to two years, depending on when you first became
licensed.

Once you obtain your license, you must prepare and maintain a two-year
record of all pesticides sold or delivered by the dealer location you supervise
as described in the California Code of Regulations section 6560 — 6570.

Please review:
http://www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/legbills/calcode/030106.htm#a6560

You are not required to obtain continuing education (CE) to renew the DA license.

The renewal fee is $50 for the 2-year cycle (3 CCR section 6502). We do not prorate
your fee if you renew your license late. Instead, a late fee is applied.

A late fee of 50 percent of the total renewal fee will be charged for each license or
certificate postmarked after December 31 of the expiration year.
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Miscellaneous The following chart lists possible miscellaneous fees.

fees
Type Amount Details
Name $20 ¢ You must immediately notify the Licensing and
change Certification Office in writing (3 CCR section 6508).
¢ You must submit legal documents certifying the name
change.
o A new license will be automatically issued for all name
changes.
¢ The Address Change/Name Change/Replacement Card
Form is available on our website at
www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/license/lcforms.htm
Address $20 ¢ You must immediately notify the Licensing and
change Certification Office in writing (3 CCR section 6508).
e This fee is only required if you request a new license.
¢ The Address Change/Name Change/Replacement Card
Form is available on our website at
www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/license/lcforms.htm
Duplicate $20 ¢ This fee applies to requests for a duplicate or
replacement license.
¢ The Address Change/Name Change/Replacement Card
Form is available on our website at
www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/license/lcforms.htm
Name and/or address change fees are waived if the request is made during
renewal.
Timeline for DPR may take up to 100 days to complete the processing of your application, in
processing compliance with Government Code sections 15374-15378. Failure to comply with this
applications time period may be appealed to the Agency Secretary, California Environmental
Protection Agency, P.O. Box 2815, Sacramento, California, 95814, pursuant to
regulations set forth in 3 CCR section 301. Under certain circumstances, the Agency
Secretary may order that the applicant receive a reimbursement of filing fees.
Common The most common application errors are
mistakes * Incorrect fees

* Missing the final filing date
* Not specifying your preferred month, location, and type of examination(s)

You can avoid these errors by reading the application instructions carefully and by
mailing your application before the final filing date.
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Our physical Department of Pesticide Regulation
address Pest Management and Licensing Branch
Licensing and Certification Program
1001 I Street
Sacramento, CA 95814-2828

Our mailing Department of Pesticide Regulation
address Pest Management and Licensing Branch
Licensing and Certification Program
P.O. Box 4015

Sacramento, CA 95812-4015

For more You may contact us between the hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at (916) 445-4038, or
information e-mail us at licensemail@cdpr.ca.gov.




