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Who Needs It? 
An Aircraft Pilot Pest Control Certificate is required by anyone who operates any aircraft for the purpose of pest 
control. This includes any one of the following examples (FAC section 11901): 
•	 Pilots employed by a licensed Pest Control Business 
•	 Pilots employed by vector control agencies or districts 
•	 Pilots who do pest control on their own property (private applicators) 

What’s Required? 
Apprentice Pest Control Aircraft Pilot Certificate (AP): 
•	 Valid FAA Commercial Pilot Certificate, or if spraying your own property, a valid FAA Private Pilot Certificate

 (FAC section 11901) 
•	 Valid FAA Medical Certificate (FAC section 11901) 
•	 Submit an initial application fee of $60.00 (FAC section 11903) 
•	 Submit examination fee of $50.00 for each exam to be taken (FAC section 11502.5[b]) 
•	 Pass the Laws and Regulations and Apprentice Pilot Examinations (FAC section 11905) 

Journeyman Pest Control Aircraft Pilot Certificate (JP): 
•	 Valid FAA Commercial Pilot Certificate, or if spraying your own property, a valid FAA Private Pilot Certificate

 (FAC section 11901) 
•	 Valid FAA Medical Certificate (FAC section 11901) 
•	 Within the last two years, served as a California JP (FAC section 11906) or AP for one year and have at least 150

 hours in a fixed-wing aircraft or at least 50 hours in a helicopter (FAC section 11907) 
•	 Submit an examination fee of $50.00 for the Journeyman Pilot Exam (FAC section 11502.5 [b]) 
•	 Pass the Journeyman Pilot Examination (FAC section 11905) 

Additional Requirements! 

•	 Accumulate at least 20 hours of approved continuing education every two years before certificate renewal.
 Included in the 20 hours of continuing education are at least four hours pertaining to pesticide laws and
 regulations and at least four hours pertaining to aerial pest control equipment and application techniques (3CCR
 section 6511) 

•	 Register with the county agricultural commissioner in each county where aerial pest control is performed
 (FAC section 11921) 

References: Food and Agricultural Code sections 11502.5, 11701.5, 11901 ­
11940 and Title 3, California Code of Regulations section 6000, 6540 - 6544. 
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