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Whether a substance is a pesticide 
and under the jurisdiction of that 

law depends not only upon the 
nature of the substance and the 

information on the label, but also 
upon intended uses and upon 

printed, written, or oral claims. 
For example, petroleum oil sold 

for use solely as a fuel or lubricant 
is not a pesticide, but the same 

material is a pesticide when sold 
or intended for application to 

plants to control scale insects, or 
as a spray to control weeds, or for 

application to ponds to control 
mosquitoes. 

— 1944 department annual report 

Funding  
and Accountability

The Department of Pesticide Regulation (DPR) is funded by regulatory fees, 
penalties and a small amount of federal funds. The largest revenue source is the mill 
assessment, a fee levied on pesticide sales at the point of first sale into the state. Other 
revenue sources are:
•	 Pesticide product registration and renewal fees. 
•	 Fees from pesticide-related licenses issued to people and businesses that sell, 

apply or recommend the use of pesticides.
•	 Structural pest control activity fees.
•	 Civil penalties (for example, selling unregistered or misbranded pesticide products). 
•	 Miscellaneous fees and various reimbursements.
•	 Funds from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) and U.S. 

Department of Agriculture (USDA). Federal funding supports DPR activities 
performed jointly or for these federal agencies. For example, under a cooperative 
agreement, U.S. EPA transfers funds to DPR to conduct pesticide enforcement 
and program development, including worker safety and endangered species 
protection. (The grant covers a small portion of enforcement costs in DPR’s 
wide-ranging program.) 
All revenues except for structural pest control fees are deposited in the DPR Fund.
In 2011, the mill assessment was at the statutory maximum of 21 mills, that is, 2.1 

cents per dollar of sales of registered pesticide products sold in California. (A mill is 
equal to one-tenth of a cent.) Exempt from the mill assessment are products registered 
for manufacturing use, that is, sold to other firms that repackage it as their own product 
or use it to manufacture other pesticide products. The company that repackages or uses 
the pesticide to make another product must register the product and pay the mill 
assessment on its California sales.

An extra three-fourths mill is assessed on agricultural and dual-use products 
(pesticides labeled for both agricultural and nonagricultural use). These funds are 
transferred to the California Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA) to support 
its pesticide consultation unit.

Even when the mill rate stays the same, the revenue collected from the mill 
assessment varies depending on the total dollar sales of pesticides in California. In 
the 25 years ending in 2011, yearly mill revenue had increased all but three years, 
with the increase ranging from 0.3 to 11 percent, averaging about 4 to 5 percent. In 
2010-11, mill revenue was $56.1 million. 

The mill assessment is self-reported and the law requires those subject to the as-
sessment to keep records and be subject to audit by DPR. The Product Compliance 
Branch audits pesticide registrants, dealers and brokers to find out if pesticides are 
registered, to verify sales and to document that mill assessments were paid. If inves-
tigators find sales of unregistered products or unpaid mill assessments, the sellers 
must pay any money owed and a 10 percent late penalty. They are also subject to civil 
penalties. The branch is also responsible for annually distributing the required propor-
tion of mill assessment revenue to the county agricultural commissioners (CACs) to 
support local pesticide use enforcement. 

Most funding for the Structural Pest Control Board (SPCB) comes from fees. 
Structural Pest Control Fund revenue comes from the wood-destroying organism 
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It remains to be seen whether 
or not the income derived from 

licenses required by the Economic 
Poison Law will be sufficient for 

its full enforcement. It is probably 
that some support by State 

appropriation will be needed if the 
law is to be made effective .... 

— 1921 department annual report

inspection/completion activity fee, licensing fees for individuals and businesses 
performing structural pest control work, fines and other minor sources. The funds are 
used for SPCB’s core programs, including licensing, enforcement, disciplinary 
actions and consumer protection.
•	 Structural Pest Control Education and Enforcement Fund revenue comes from a 

portion of the structural PUR filing fee and some fines. The funds are used to train 
CAC staff and others involved in structural pesticide use enforcement, to repay 
counties for specified investigations and to coordinate appeals of disciplinary 
actions related to structural pest control.

•	 Structural Pest Control Research Fund revenue also comes from a portion of the 
structural PUR filing fee and can only be used for research on control of structural 
pests. 

History of Pesticide Regulatory Program Funding
Pesticide and pest control legislation in the early part of the 20th century was 

sponsored by the regulated industry and focused on preventing fraudulent practices 
and unfair competition. Activities clearly related to registration and product quality 
were fully funded by industry fees, which were increased as necessary to keep the 
programs self-supporting.

Public health protection became part of the regulatory program mission with the 
passage of the Chemical Spray Residue Act of 1927 and the initiation of residue 
testing of fresh produce. With this, General Funds began supporting some of the 
pesticide regulatory program although the mix between this and special funds varied 
over the years. 

In 1971, a mill assessment on pesticide sales was passed (Chapter 1367, SB 825). 
The law set the rate at 8 mills ($0.008), with the counties receiving 62.5 percent of 
these funds for local pesticide enforcement.

The mill assessment did not change until the 1989 passage of the Food Safety Act 
(Chapter 1200, AB 2161), which increased the assessment to 9 mills. The bill 
sanctioned full pesticide use reporting and increased produce monitoring among other 
food safety measures. Five-eighths of the extra 1.0 mill went to CACs to cover costs 
of the new programs. 

In 1990, DPR’s General Fund support was reduced as part of the state’s effort to 
address a statewide budget crisis. To compensate, the mill assessment was increased 
from 9 to 18 mills (Chapter 1679, Statutes of 1990, AB 2419), with CACs receiving 
31.25 percent of the mill revenues to keep funding consistent with the amount they 
had been receiving previously. The bill also required that the department “conduct a 
study to evaluate the pesticide regulatory programs funded with the (mill) assessment 
… to determine which program components can be modified or eliminated in order to 
avoid duplication of any other state or federal requirements.” DPR submitted the 
report to the Legislature in May 1991.

The 1990 legislation included a new sunset on the mill assessment, which was 
scheduled to revert to 9 mills on July 1, 1992. In September 1992, the Legislature 
again reduced General Fund support and increased the mill assessment (Chapter 
706, SB 1850) to 22 mills, with a new sunset of July 1, 1997. (Because SB 1850 was 
enacted with the urgency clause and went into effect before the July - September 1992 
assessment was due, the mill rate did not revert to 9 mills.)

Twenty-one mills were divided between DPR and the counties. Revenue from the 
22nd mill was divided between CDFA and the counties. The counties received 32.5 
percent of the extra mill to defray costs associated with collection of pesticide use 
data. CDFA received 67.5 percent of one mill (later increased to three-fourths mill), 
which under the law could only be used to fund its pesticide consultation unit. A later 
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Registrants of good products are 
encouraged to take pride in them 
and to help lead law enforcement 
against unfair competitors. It is 
plain stupidity when one tries to 
beat the law or to make a stake 

and leave California. In the end, 
he will likely suffer more than a 
customer to whom he makes an 

illegal sale. 
— 1944 department annual report

amendment (Chapter 6951, Statutes of 1997, SB 1161) prohibited CDFA from using 
the funds for pesticide risks assessment.

As required by SB 1850, DPR must consult with CDFA on Section 18 and Section 
24(c) special local need registrations, denial of new active ingredient registrations, 
suspension or cancellation of pesticide registrations or uses, and “other measures 
adopted to mitigate unacceptable adverse pesticidal effects.” In 1992, DPR and 
CDFA signed an agreement to detail their consultative relationship and “ensure that 
CDFA is provided an opportunity to submit information to DPR, including, but not 
limited to, the impacts on agriculture resulting from the specified actions, benefits 
derived from the use of a pesticide, and any recommended alternative action.” 

In 1993, legislation (Chapter 1176, AB 770) closed a loophole in collecting the 
mill assessment by identifying the person who first sold the pesticide into or within 
the state, whether the registrant, a pesticide broker or a pesticide dealer, as the 
responsible party for paying the assessment. 

In 1997, legislation (Chapter 695, SB 1161) reauthorized the mill assessment, 
capping the mill at 15.15 from January 1998 through March 1999, then raising it to a 
maximum of 17.5 mills through December 2002 when, without subsequent legisla-
tion, it would have reverted to 9 mills. The Legislature set the 17.5-mill maximum 
artificially low to allow the department to spend down a large reserve in the DPR 
Fund. The bill increased the assessment that funded CDFA’s pesticide consultation to 
three-quarters of a mill and changed it to apply only on agricultural and dual-use 
products. The law requires CDFA to decide each year “the necessity of this additional 
assessment” and it may choose not to have it collected in any given year.

The 1997 mill reauthorization legislation also changed the funding formula for 
CACs so beginning on July 1, 1998, the counties were to receive the revenue from 6 
mills. The funds are distributed based on each county’s pesticide control activities, 
costs, workload and performance. 

Another pending sunset to 9 mills prompted the 2001 passage of AB 780 (Chapter 
523). The bill provided for a continuation of the mill assessment rate at 17.5 mills 
plus the extra three-fourths mill on agricultural and dual-use products. The law 
extended the mill assessment sunset to June 30, 2004, when it would revert to 9 mills. 

AB 780 required DPR to form a subcommittee of stakeholders to help the 
department prepare a report to the Legislature to recommend “a funding solution … 
that would eliminate the need to reauthorize the mill assessment … every five years 
and that would preserve the accountability of the department to the entities 
contributing to the financing of the department.” (See sidebar on development of 
DPR’s new cost-accounting method.) The report was also to analyze ongoing funding 
needs and potential business process improvement measures. DPR submitted the 
report to the Legislature in January 2003.

AB 780 also clarified the law to make explicit it that products bought over the 
Internet or by telephone and sent from out of state were subject to the mill assessment. 

SB 1049 (Chapter 741, Statutes of 2003) was a budget trailer bill that provided for 
new and increased fees for natural resources and environmental protection agencies. 
It put into place the most significant changes in DPR funding in more than two 
decades: removing all General Funds and making the department a fee-based agency. 
The legislation capped the mill assessment at 21 mills and preserved DPR’s authority 
to adjust the mill fee under that cap. It also removed the mill assessment sunset and 
made permanent DPR’s authorization to collect the extra three-quarter mill on 
agricultural and dual-use products to support CDFA’s pesticide consultation, unless 
requested not to do so by CDFA. 

SB 1049 required DPR to make its product registration and professional licensing 
programs self-supporting and gave the department authority to adjust fees to support 

1 Appendix A lists this and other statutes noted in this chapter and shows the related code 
section it amended or added. Statutes and related code sections deleted or superseded by 
later legislation have been omitted.



A Guide to Pesticide Regulation 
in California  122  |

Chapter 15: Funding and Accountability

Developing a New  
Cost-Accounting Methodology

California state government agencies typically use a 
financial accounting system designed to track or report costs 
by organizational units, that is, by divisions and branches. 
However, the Department of Pesticide Regulation (DPR) 
wanted its accounting to more accurately capture and track 
functional costs and program management responsibilities 
across organizational units. To do so, DPR undertook a 
function-based costing initiative to identify and assign the 
department’s costs to specific activities. A function is a set 
of activities that produces a key service to meet program 
mandates. If budgeting is based on organizational units, it is 
difficult to know the costs associated with each function or 
its resulting service. Most DPR functions are handled by 
more than one of its branches.

Function-based costing allows DPR to see more clearly 
how it uses funds because the system is based on services 
provided. Instead of assigning costs to a specific product, 
the goal is to estimate the cost of providing a service. For 
DPR, the service might be processing a registration applica-
tion, conducting an environmental assessment or managing 
a grant program. The allocation provides important informa-
tion to management and to stakeholders about how DPR 
uses its funds and what the costs are of providing various 
services. Knowing what it costs to run a particular branch or 
division is not as helpful in evaluating programs as know-
ing how much it costs to process a new product registration 
package or collect pesticide use reporting data. Since most 
processes and activities within government agencies change 
only gradually, function-based costing provides DPR with a 
tool to monitor costs over fiscal years.

Eleven operational functions were identified:
•	 Product registration
•	 Human health and environmental assessments
•	 Licensing and certification
•	 Permitting and pesticide use reporting
•	 Monitoring/surveillance
•	 Mitigation of human health risks

•	 Mitigation of environmental hazards
•	 Pest management
•	 Use enforcement and compliance
•	 Product compliance and mill assessment
•	 Distributed program/executive management and 

administration
(Note: In 2010, “structural pest control” was added as a 

business function when the Structural Pest Control Board 
was transferred to DPR.)

The functions and their supporting activities represent 
what DPR does to produce specific services, not how the 
department is organized. For example, the pesticide registra-
tion function contains everything DPR does to register a 
product. This function includes intake of the application and 
its technical evaluation, a scientific evaluation of the product 
and other activities. However, they do not all occur in the 
Pesticide Registration Branch. For example, health evalua-
tion of a product involves staff from the Worker Health and 
Safety and Medical Toxicology branches, and for environ-
mental effects, the Environmental Monitoring Branch.

DPR adopted function-based accounting in 2004. The 
information provided by functional accounting allows DPR 
to refine its budget and fees to accurately recover costs 
associated with specific services. In each year’s State 
Budget, funding is appropriated to DPR based not on its 
programmatic divisions (such as branches), but on its 
business functions.

Function-based accounting is linked to DPR’s 
operational plan, which describes what DPR plans to 
accomplish during the fiscal year, with performance 
measures for each function. DPR’s operational plans and 
performance measures are posted each year on the 
department’s Web site, as are the functional accounting 
year-end reports and detailed descriptions of activities 
within each function. This allows stakeholders to review 
specific goals, costs associated with them and clearly see 
whether goals are being met.
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Number of pesticide products 
registered in California: 
• 1913: “well toward 10,000”
• 1935: 3,500 
• 1945: 7,136  
• 1950: 9,070  
• 1956: 11,904 
• 2011: about 13,000

spending in each program. Fees had previously been set in statute and could only be 
changed by the Legislature. Before the 2003 passage of SB 1049, the last fee adjust-
ment had been in the 1980s. As program costs increased, fees no longer covered costs. 
Because fees were set in statute, the department could not adjust them or institute 
added fees for services that created significant workload. SB 1049 gave DPR authority 
to use rulemaking to set registration and licensing fees. The legislation also allowed 
the department to charge separate fees for various activities related to its licensing 
program. For example, separate fees could be levied for conducting examinations, 
approving continuing education courses and issuing duplicate licensing cards. It also 
allowed the department to charge fees for amendments to pesticide registrations. 

In late 2003, DPR adopted regulations to increase licensing and registration fees 
and raise the mill assessment from 17.5 to 21 mills, plus three-quarters mill on 
agricultural and dual-use products. (See below for more information on licensing and 
registration fees.) These changes became effective in January 2004.

AB 1011 (Chapter 612, Statutes of 2005) expanded broker licensing requirements 
to close loopholes in previous laws that allowed some pesticide sellers to avoid 
paying the mill assessment. Internet sales of pesticides and industrial, institutional 
and consumer-use pesticide sales by intermediate brokers and through the distribution 
centers of nationwide retailers were often not held accountable to report and pay mill 
fees. Before AB 1011 passed, only sellers of agricultural-use pesticides had to be 
licensed by DPR. The legislation expanded broker licensing to encompass all those 
who first sell or distribute any pesticides into California, whether agricultural or 
nonagricultural products. 

Product Registration Fees
Each year, manufacturers, importers or dealers who wish to label and sell a 

pesticide product for use in California must get certificates of product registration 
from DPR. The certificates expire December 31 of each year. 

Until 2003, registration fees were set in statute. In 1986, the Legislature approved 
an increase in product registration fees from $40 to $200, even though that did not 
cover program costs at the time. With the 2003 passage of SB 1049, DPR was given 
authority and required to increase fees to cover program costs.

In 2003, DPR adopted regulations to raise to $750 the fee for each pesticide prod-
uct submitted for registration or renewal, effective January 2004. Late penalties were 
increased to $150. The department also established a $100 fee for each application to 
amend a pesticide product registration. Some minor amendments were exempted. 

The fees were set at a level to generate about $9 million a year. This was the 
estimated cost of the registration program in 2000-01. In that fiscal year, the $200 
registration fee charged for 12,000 new and renewed product registrations generated 
around $2.4 million. At the time, there was no charge for label amendments; in 
2000-01, the department processed about 2,200 label amendments, about 20 percent 
of which required scientific evaluation. 

No fees are charged for applications for Section 18 emergency exemptions from 
registration, Section 24(c) special local need registrations, and research authorizations.

Licensing and Certification Fees
(For information on structural pest control licensing, see the section on the 

Structural Pest Control Board, below.)
DPR’s Licensing and Certification Program examines and licenses qualified 

applicators, aircraft pilots, pest control dealer designated agents and agricultural pest 
control advisers; and certifies pesticide applicators who use or supervise the use of 
restricted pesticides. It also licenses businesses that sell or apply pesticides or use pest 
control methods or devices for hire (that is, pest control businesses, maintenance 
gardener pest control businesses, pest control dealers and pesticide brokers). 
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In the early years, a farmer 
applied pest control materials 
himself, but now, in order to 

secure adequate control of pests, 
he often finds that it is necessary 
to hire a specialist to apply these 

materials, particularly when 
special techniques or equipment 

are needed. 
— Department special report 
to the Legislature on pesticide 

enforcement (1953)

Major exemptions from licensing requirements include individuals and businesses 
performing preservative treatment of fabrics or structural materials; household or 
industrial sanitation services; treatment of seed when this activity is incidental to the 
person’s regular business; and removal of pests without the use of pesticides. 

DPR conducts about 9,000 examinations yearly and issues or renews about 16,000 
licenses and certificates each year. Licenses are issued for two years. DPR also 
accredits more than 1,600 continuing education courses.

Before 2003, licensing fees were last adjusted in the mid-1980s, set in statute at 
$15 to $100, a level designed to cover program costs at the time. DPR estimated that 
in 2000-01, licensing-related costs were $1.7 million, with fee revenue covering 
about half. With new authority from SB 1049 to set its own fees, the department 
raised licensing fees and instituted new charges for services that required significant 
staff time. The new fees, ranging from $25 to $160, went into effect in January 2004. 

Structural Pest Control Licensing Fees
The SPCB licenses individuals and businesses that do structural pest control. All 

structural pest control licensees must meet state licensing requirements in at least one 
of the three branches of pest control work: Branch 1, fumigation; Branch 2, general 
household pests; Branch 3, termites and other wood-destroying pests and organisms, 
and wood-roof cleaning and treatment. Each category requires a different 
examination and a licensee may hold a license in more than one category.

There are about 20,400 individual SPCB licensees and 3,000 principal and branch 
business registrations. Licenses are renewed every three years and registrations 
yearly. The board charges $10 to $120 for applications, registrations, examinations 
and renewals. Licensees that are required to file pesticide use reports with CACs must 
also buy $6 SPCB stamps to affix to each monthly report. Two-thirds of this revenue 
is deposited in the board’s Education and Enforcement Fund and the balance in the 
Structural Pest Control Research Fund.

Branch 3 companies must pay a $2.50 fee for each inspection they conduct for 
wood-destroying organisms. There are about 1,400 Branch 3 companies, which 
conduct about 1.5 million inspections a year.

Local Assistance
Among other duties, CACs are charged with local enforcement of pesticide laws 

and regulations, working under supervision of and contract with DPR. Funding for 
local pesticide enforcement comes from four sources: the mill assessment, local fees 
and penalties, county general funds and unclaimed gas tax. (State law requires that 
fuel taxes attributable to the use of off-highway agricultural vehicles be transferred to 
CDFA. Food and Agricultural Code Section 224 identifies how these funds are to be 
expended, with $9 million each year going to CACs for pesticide use enforcement.)

The 2004 passage of SB 1107 (Chapter 230) changed how funds were divided 
among the counties. Among other requirements that had been imposed by the 1978 
passage of AB 3765 (which set up the functional equivalency program for pesticide 
regulation), CACs carry out the restricted materials permit program. They issue 
site- and time-specific permits for the use of restricted pesticides, review notices of 
intended applications and perform pre-application site inspections to a minimum of 
5 percent of application sites. 

In 1980, CDFA (which then managed the pesticide program) contracted with the 
counties for the state to reimburse the costs of this new mandated workload, drawing 
from a $2.88 million General Fund appropriation. The amount remained the same 
(although its source shifted between the General Fund and the DPR Fund) until the 
2004-05 fiscal year. SB 1107, a budget trailer bill, consolidated funding to CACs for 
restricted material permits with DPR’s other CAC funding. Instead of a fixed dollar 
amount, the appropriation to counties to manage their restricted material permit 
programs was converted to an extra 1.6 mill, increasing the total CAC share to 7.6 
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mills. That same legislation also ended the distribution to the counties of 50 percent 
of pesticide dealer license fees collected by DPR. 

DPR disburses to the counties the revenue from 7.6 mills of mill assessment as 
partial reimbursement for their costs in carrying out pesticide use enforcement. In 
addition, the law allows DPR to disburse up to 0.5 mill out of existing fees for local 
assistance to counties in an ozone nonattainment area affected by a fumigant 
emissions limit. (See Chapter 12 for more information on the volatile organic 
compound program.) As of 2011, only Ventura County was eligible for this funding.

Under contract with DPR, CACs are also reimbursed for electronically entering 
PUR data. In July 2012, the individual contracts for PUR data entry are scheduled for 
conversion to a single contract with the California Agricultural Commissioners and 
Sealers Association (CACASA). 

By law, pest control advisers (PCAs) and pest control businesses must register with 
the agricultural commissioner in each county where they plan to conduct business. 
Most of the state’s 58 counties charge fees for these registrations. Counties use this 
revenue for pesticide use enforcement.
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