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1 Which fees are changing and when? 

Effective October 1, 2015, the Department of Pesticide Regulation’s (DPR’s) application fees will be 
changing for registration and renewal of new pesticide products and all types of product amendments 
(substantive changes that require data or reference to data, non-substantive changes including notification 
of minor changes, and formulation changes).  

Application type Before October 1 On/after October 1 

New products $750 $1,150 

Amendments No fee 
Non-substantive 

$100 
Substantive 

$25 
All amendments 

Renewals $750 $1,150 
 

2 Which applications for registration of pesticide products require a 
fee? 

All applications for registration of a pesticide product postmarked on or after October 1, 2015 will require 
a fee of $1,150. This includes the following types: 

 Full Registrations [Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and Insecticide Act (FIFRA) §3] 
 Supplemental Registration of Distributor (Subregistrations) 
 Additional/Alternate Brand Names 
 Master Labels 
 Company Ownership Changes 
 Product Ownership Transfers 
 Experimental Use Permits (FIFRA §5) 
 California Only Registrations (e.g., spray adjuvants)  

 
3 Does a change in company ownership and/or a product transfer 

require an application fee? 

Yes, a change in company ownership requires a application fee. DPR processes each product under the 
new company as a new product registration and requires an application fee.  

A product transfer occurs when a product is sold to another registrant. The product transfer does not 
involve the sale or purchase of the company. DPR processes a product transfer as a new product 
registration and requires an application fee. 
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4 Does a change in company name require a fee? 

If the only change is the company name and there is no change in company ownership, no fee is required. 
However, if labels are submitted to make changes in addition to the company name, a $25 application fee 
is required.  

5 When submitting data or label changes to fulfill conditions of a 
conditional registration, is a fee required?  

It depends. If data is submitted to fulfill conditions, no fee is required. If in lieu of submitting data, the 
registrant submits a revised label to fulfill conditions (e.g., adding “Not for use in California” to a use site 
or pest), it is a label amendment and a $25 application fee is required. If both data and labels are 
submitted to fulfill the conditions, the $25 application fee is still required. 

6 Which amendments require a fee? 

All amendments to a pesticide product postmarked on or after October 1, 2015 require an application fee 
of $25. 

Type of Amendment Examples of Changes 

Substantive (requires 
data or reference to) 

Adding a crop, site, use, or pest, revising the signal word 
or precautionary statements 

Non-Substantive  

Compliance to U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. 
EPA) Pesticide Registration Notice (PR) (i.e., PR 2007-4, 
Container Disposal), reformatting, non-FIFRA related 
changes, correcting typographical or grammatical errors  

Formulation Change 
Adding an alternate formulation and/or revising a current 
formulation previously accepted by DPR; includes updating 
supplier information  

Notification of Minor 
Changes 

Delete pests or use sites, delete redundant label statements, 
change in stated nominal concentration of inert ingredient; see 
California Notice 2002-01 for other changes allowed by the 
notification process 

7 Why are fees changing? 

California Food and Agricultural Code (FAC) §12812 states DPR shall establish fees “sufficient to 
support the expenditure levels for the registration program…” Current fees do not fully support DPR’s 
registration program. Registration program costs have increased. Additionally, the fee increase will pay 
for the development of the DPR’s Pesticide Registration Data Management System (PRDMS). DPR has 
not raised its fees for eleven years. More information on the PRDMS project and the fee increase can be 
found on DPR’s Web site at <http://www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/legbills/regsdeve.htm>. 
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8 What is PRDMS? 

The Pesticide Registration Data Management System (PRDMS) will move DPR’s pesticide registration 
process from the current paper based system to a paperless system. The paperless system will allow 
registrants and others to apply for registration online and submit electronic documents to DPR’s Pesticide 
Registration Branch. Under the new system, registrants will have the capability to submit documents and 
renew pesticide products electronically. DPR will continue to accept paper copies of applications, 
scientific data, etc.; however, proposed labels will be required to be submitted electronically. 

PRDMS will streamline the registration process. Submissions will be routed electronically to staff 
evaluation the submission and the documents will be maintained electronically. There will also be an 
electronic payment system, which will allow for multiple payment options to pay registration fees, such 
as (electronic fund transfer, credit card, and check). Once a product is registered, the product label will be 
available online and accessible to the public. More information on the PRDMS project and the fee 
increase can be found on DPR’s Web site at <http://www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/legbills/regsdeve.htm>, 
California Notice 2015-01 at <http://cdpr.ca.gov/docs/registration/canot/2015/ca2015-01.pdf>, and 
California Notice 2015-06 at <http://cdpr.ca.gov/docs/registration/canot/2015/ca2015-06.pdf>. 

 
9 Have application fees changed for other types of registrations? 

No, other registration application fees, if any, remain the same for the following types of registrations:  

Type of Registration Fee 

Interim Registration (in addition to application fee) $5000 

Structural Pest Control Device $200 

Section 18 Emergency Exemption No fee 

Section 24c Special Local Need No fee 

Research Authorization No fee 

 

10 Does the new fee affect mill assessment? 

No, the increase in registration fees does not affect mill assessment. The current mill assessment is $0.021 
per dollar of sales, plus an additional $0.0075 on agricultural and dual-use products. More information on 
mill assessment can be found on DPR’s Web site at <http://www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/mill/masesmnu.htm>. 
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11 What do the registration fees cover? 

Registration fees cover the cost of the entire pesticide registration process, which includes more than just 
the Pesticide Registration Branch. The registration process includes evaluations conducted in a number of 
other DPR Branches including Worker Health and Safety, Environmental Monitoring, Human Health 
Assessment, Enforcement, and Pest Management and Licensing. Furthermore, the registration fees cover 
a number of business functions for which fees are not charged such as special local needs registrations 
(Section 24c’s), emergency exemptions from registration (Section 18’s), research authorizations, adverse 
effect notifications, the reevaluation program, coordination aspects of risk assessment and risk mitigation, 
and the ombudsman. Covered business functions also include intake, indexing scientific studies, label 
coding into the product label database, maintaining the pesticide data library, public records requests, and 
licensing of pesticide products (issuance of Certificates of Registration). 

12 If a label amendment that required no fee was recently returned, 
will the new fee be required when resubmitted? 

This depends on the date the application was returned and when the resubmission occurs. If the applicant 
resubmits the label amendment within six (6) months of the date of the return letter, no additional fee is 
required. If the label amendment has not been resubmitted within six (6) months after the date of the 
return letter, the original submission will be shredded. Therefore, if the applicant resubmits after that time 
period, the applicant will need to resubmit the application and all relevant documents, and provide DPR 
with a $25 amendment fee. 

 
13 If a returned label amendment that included a $100 fee is 

resubmitted, will a $75 refund be issued? 

No, application fees are nonrefundable even when a registrant voluntarily withdraws the application, or 
the application is returned or denied. 

Since the label amendment fee was $100 at the time the application was originally submitted, no refunds 
will be provided. If the application is resubmitted within six (6) months of the date of the return letter, no 
additional fee is required.   
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14 A label amendment was returned due to a missing fee. If the label 
amendment is resubmitted, what fee should be included?  

This depends on the date the application was returned and when the resubmission occurs. If the 
resubmission occurs on or after October 1, 2015, and within the six (6) months of the date of the return 
letter, a $100 fee is required (the fee at the time when originally submitted). If the resubmission occurs on 
or after October 1, 2015, and after the six (6) months of the date of the return letter, the original 
submission will be shredded. Therefore, the applicant will need to resubmit the application, all relevant 
documents and data, and a $25 application fee is required (new fee in effect).  

Alternatively, the applicant may withdraw the application at any time and resubmit the entire application 
on or after October 1, 2015, with the new fee amount. 

 

Amendments Before October 1, 2015 On/After October 1, 2015 

Within 6 months of 
return date $100 $100 

After 6 months of 
return date $100 $25 

 
15 If a label amendment is submitted with $100 after October 1, 2015, 

will a refund be issued? 

Yes, if the label amendment is postmarked on or after October 1, 2015, with $100, a refund of $75 will be 
issued. 

 
16 If an application for registration of a new pesticide product is 

submitted with $750 after October 1, 2015, will the submission be 
returned? 

Not immediately. If the incorrect fee is submitted, the applicant will be notified and have a specified time 
period to submit the additional fee. The submission will not be reviewed until full payment is received. If 
DPR does not receive full payment within the specified timeframe, the submission will be returned.  
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17 An application for registration of a new pesticide product was 
returned due to a missing fee. If the application is resubmitted, 
what fee should be included? 

This depends on the date the application was returned and when the resubmission occurs. If the 
resubmission occurs on or after October 1, 2015, and within the six (6) months of the date of the return 
letter, a $750 fee is required (the fee at the time when originally submitted). If the resubmission occurs on 
or after October 1, 2015, and after the six (6) months of the date of the return letter, the original 
submission will be shredded. Therefore, the applicant will need to resubmit the application, all relevant 
documents and data, and a $1,150 application fee is required (new fee in effect).  

Alternatively, the applicant may withdraw the application at any time and resubmit the entire application 
on or after October 1, 2015, with the new fee amount. 

 

New Products Before October 1, 2015 On/After October 1, 2015 

Within 6 months of 
return date $750 $750 

After 6 months of 
return date $750 $1,150 

 

18 Has the fee changed for the Application for Renewal of Pesticide 
Registration (product renewal)? 

Yes, the fee for the Application for Renewal of Pesticide Registration will be $1,150 per pesticide 
product. Please note that if the application is postmarked February 1, 2016, or later, a penalty fee of 20% 
of the original application fee ($230) per product, will be assessed. This penalty is added to the original 
renewal fee and must be sent with the application for renewal before a license will be issued. Notices 
regarding the renewal of the pesticide product license and application will be mailed mid-October.  

 
19 Can an application for registration of a new pesticide product be 

submitted before October 1, 2015 under the current fee of $750, 
but delay issuance of the license until 2016? 

Yes, an application for registration of a new pesticide product and application fee of $750 can be 
submitted before October 1, 2015 and have it held for 2016. The applicant must formally request to have 
the product registration held for 2016. Please note, licenses are processed “first in first out,” therefore, the 
registration may be a delayed depending on the number of new product registrations held for 2016.  
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20 Is there a different application fee for pesticide products that 

require federal registration than California only registration (e.g., 
spray adjuvant)? 

No, the registration fees are the same whether the product requires federal registration or California only 
registration. 

21 Will a submission be returned if an applicant submits an older 
version of an application form? 

No, the submission will not be returned if it includes an older version of the application form. However, 
DPR requests that applicants use the new version of the application form for submissions postmarked 
October 1, 2015 or later. Older versions of DPR’s application form will be removed from DPR’s Web site 
on October 1, 2015.  

22 If an applicant submits an Application for Renewal of Pesticide 
Registration (product renewal) and $750 per product, will the 
product’s license still be issued?  

If the incorrect fee is submitted, the applicant will be notified of the deficiency. The license will not be 
issued until full payment is received and processed. Please note that a penalty fee of $230 (20% of the 
original fee) will be assessed per unpaid product, if full payment is not postmarked by January 31, 2016.  

23 If an incorrect fee is submitted with an application that includes 
data, will DPR scientists evaluate the data while the company is 
working towards submitting the correct fee?  

No, neither the submission nor data will be evaluated until full payment is received by DPR.  

24 Is it possible for DPR to take a deposit, from which the application 
fees could then be deducted each time an amendment is 
submitted? 

No. 
 

 
If you have questions, please contact DPR’s Pesticide Registration 

Branch Ombudsman, Ms. Jolynn Mahmoudi-Haeri by e-mail at 
<Registration.Ombudsman@cdpr.ca.gov> 


