You must inform your
employees so they
don’t enter sprayed
fields and be exposed
to pesticides.
HERE'S HOW.

NOTIFY > POST > DISPLAY

Pesticides on crops present a hazard to workers until they break down to safe levels. There are

restricted entry intervals (REI) for every pesticide/crop combination. REIs are listed on pesticide

labels and in California regulations. It is your responsibility as an employer to provide workers and

contractors with the information they need to be safe when working in or near treated fields.

For more specific informa-
tion regarding employers
responsibilities and workers
rights regarding work in and
near treated fields contact
your County Agricultural
Commissioner or consult
the following DPR
publications:

Pesticide Safety Series A-8

Hazard Communication
Information for Employees
Handling Pesticides in
Agricultural Settings

Pesticide Safety Series A-9

Hazard Communication
Information for Employers
with Employees Working
in Agricultural Fields

Pesticide Safety Series A-6
Summary of Worker Safety
Regulations for the
Agricultural Setting

I

NOTICE: Each morning make sure all your workers and contractors know where
pesticides will be applied and how long they need to stay out of treated areas. You must

inform employees likely to enter or come within one-quarter mile of restricted-entry fields.

POST: Warning signs must be posted before an application when required by the pesticide
label, regulations, or restricted material permit. All greenhouse applications require

warning signs. Signs must be properly placed and removed within three days after the
restricted entry interval (REI) is over. There are four different kinds of warning signs required

in California.
1) REl'is 7 days or less
2) REI is more than 7 days
3) Fumigations
4) Chemigation

Each sign has specific requirements. All signs must be readable at 25 feet and be written in

English and Spanish. Signs can often be used instead of oral notification.

DISPLAY: You must make application information freely available to your employees. They
should not have to ask to see it. Keep application information at a central location like the
shop or the break room. Tell your employees where it is kept. For field workers, the
Pesticide Safety Information Series A-9 must be available to workers on site. You must
write the location where your application information is displayed in the space provided on

the first page of the A-9 document.

Remember pesticide safety is the law. Failure to assure that your employees are properly

protected can result in fines up to $5,000 per violation.




