Mill Assessment/Product Compliance Program

About the Product Compliance Branch

The focus of the Product Compliance Branch (PCB) is consumer protection: making sure products are registered for sale and use in California are labeled correctly, and that required fees on their sale have been paid. PCB staff conducts audits, inspections, and investigations of pesticide sellers. The Branch also oversees disbursement of a portion of mill revenues to the counties for local pesticide enforcement.

About the Mill Assessment

California assesses a fee on all pesticide sales at the point of first sale into the state. A "mill" is equal to one-tenth of a cent. This assessment is 21 mills, or 2.1 cents per dollar of sales. Revenues support the state’s pesticide regulatory program. The mill assessment program is a self-assessment system. Each quarter, DPR mails reporting forms to pesticide registrants, licensed pest control dealers and licensed pesticide brokers. Completed forms are due to DPR within 30 days of the end of the quarter.

Selling Pesticides in California

License Requirements

How do I know if the product I am selling is registered?

Fines and Settlements

Fines in Administrative Actions - Administrative actions are taken by DPR and include sales of unregistered and misbranded pesticides, failure to pay mill assessment, and packing or shipping product with illegal pesticide residues.

DPR Court Actions - are enforcement actions taken directly in court by the State Attorney General at DPR’s request.

Fees and Budgeting

Complaints

If you believe someone is selling unregistered or misbranded pesticides, call DPR’s Product Compliance Branch, (916) 445-4159, or e-mail to: MillAssessment@cdpr.ca.gov.