How to get a permit, license or product registration
What licenses and permits does the Department of Pesticide Regulation (DPR) issue?
What about pesticide permits?
How do I apply for a license to sell a pesticide product in California?
What are the fees for registering a pesticide?
What professional licenses does DPR issue?
How do I apply to be certified as a private applicator?
- A license that allows a pesticide product or pest control device to be sold or used in California. These premarket licenses are called certificates of registration.
- A license or certificate for companies or individuals who are in the business of selling, applying, or recommending the use of pesticides.
In California, location-and time-specific permits are required to buy or use certain restricted pesticides. County agricultural commissioners issue these permits.
- More information on permits (including how to file an appeal)
- How to contact your county agricultural commissioner (Opens in new window)
These licenses, called certificates of registrations, are issued based on data that demonstrates the product is effective and can be used safely when applied according to label directions .Pesticide products must be registered under federal law with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and in California with DPR, under laws and regulations specific to this State. DPR has different (and often, more strict) requirements for registering pesticides than other states, or the federal government.
- Forms and instructions on applying to register a pesticide product or structural pest control device.
- If you have questions, contact Acting Registration Ombudsmans, Brandi Martin, 916-445-7230, email@example.com or Eileen Mahoney, 916-324-3563, firstname.lastname@example.org.
The application fee is $750, as is the annual renewal fee. In addition, a “mill assessment” fee must be paid on all pesticide sales in California. It is 2.1 cents for each dollar of sales, assessed at the point of first sale in California.
DPR’s Licensing and Certification Program is responsible for conducting exams and licensing qualified applicators, aircraft pilots, pest control dealer designated agents, and agricultural pest control advisers. It also licenses businesses that sell or apply pesticides or use pest control methods or devices for hire.
- More information on license types, with requirements, study materials and application forms
- Fees (PDF, 24 kb) charged for professional license application, renewal, and related services
Private applicators use or supervise the use of restricted pesticides. County agricultural commissioners are responsible for examining and certifying private applicators.